Eric Counsil

Milton’s Eric Counsil is seen in action earlier this season. The Black Pangthers senior is seeded No. 2 for today’s start of the District 4 Singles Tournament.

WILLIAMSPORT — Milton senior Eric Counsil is the area’s only seeded player for today’s start of the District 4 Singles Tournament as the Black Panther earned the No. 2 slot.

Rounds one, two and the quarterfinals will be contested beginning at 9 a.m. at Williamsport Area High School.

Counsil, who compiled a 13-1 overall record during the regular season, will get the winner between Lewisburg’s Zach Higgins and Jersey Shore’s Michael Walker in the second round.

“Eric’s seeding is well deserved, He’s worked hard (this season),” said Milton coach Nick Fisher.

Also for Milton, junior Kyle Wagner will face Jersey Shore’s Alex Trunzo in the first round. However, a win by Wagner would result in a matchup with top-seeded and undefeated John Duncan (13-0) of Central Columbia.

Duncan finished second in last year’s district final to Lewisburg’s Carter Casimir.

Other first-round pairings of local significance are Lewisburg’s Cole Temple facing Shikellamy’s Miles Mogush; and Mifflinburg’s McClenason Wagner facing Muncy’s Trey McCollum

After the first three rounds today, the semifinals and finals will begin at 2 p.m., Monday, at the Central PA Tennis Center in South Williamsport.

The winner and runner-up qualify for the PIAA Tournament that begins Friday, May 24 at Hershey Racquet Club.

District 4 Singles Tournament

at Williamsport Area High School

Today’s first-round pairings

No. 1 John Duncan (Central Columbia), bye; Kyle Wagner (Milton) vs. Alex Trunzo (Jersey Shore); Conner Shaffer (Selinsgrove) vs. Spencer Thomas (Hughesville); No. 8 Ryan Risch (Towanda) vs. Theo Hintz (Bloomsburg); No. 5 Nathan Redell (Wellsboro), bye; River Hicks-Lee (NP-Liberty) vs. Spencer Karasek (So. Williamsport); Cole Temple (Lewisburg) vs. Miles Mogush (Shikellamy); No. 4 Dhruv Kotru (Danville), bye; No. 3 Logan Burns (Hughesville), bye; Trey McCollum (Muncy) vs. McClenason Wagner (Mifflinburg); Noah Poll (Towanda) vs. Andrew Stapp (Montoursville); No. 6 Franklin Summerson (So. Williamsport), bye; No. 7 Conor Ryan (Central Columbia), bye; Connor Rude (Loyalsock) vs. William Poirier (Wellsboro); Zach Higgins (Lewisburg) vs. Michael Walker (Jersey Shore); No. 2 Eric Counsil (Milton), bye.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.