WILLIAMSPORT — Lewisburg juniors Cole Temple and Sawyer Fisher, fresh off their District 4 Team Tournament runner-up finish, have a lot more tennis to play as they claimed the No. 8 seed for the District 4 Doubles Tennis Tournament.

The tournament begins this morning at 9 a.m. at Williamsport Area High School.

Temple and Fisher will face South Williamsport’s team of Sam Livorno and and Ryan Weinhoffer in the opening round.

The Green Dragons’ second doubles entrant — junior David Han and sophomore Cole Casimir — open their first doubles tournament with a match against Shikellamy’s first team of Cameron Crowley and Miles Mogush.

In addition, Mifflinburg and Milton with both have two teams in action today.

For the Wildcats, their top team of juniors McClenason Wagner and Declan MacPherson face the No. 2-seeded team of Logan Burns and Spencer Thomas from Hughesville. The second doubles team for Mifflinburg — junior Brandon Linn and freshman Aaron Hackenburg — will play Selinsgrove’s second team of Eli Markle and Ethan Harris.

Milton’s top doubles team of senior Zack Burkhart and junior Kyle Wagner open play against Towanda’s second team of Tim Morrison and Jaden Wise.

The Black Panthers’ second team of seniors Tony Ayala and Josh Kern match up against Montoursville’s second team of Andrew Stapp and Levi Miller.

Danville’s team of Dhruv Kotru and Blake Nizinski earned the No. 1 seed, while Selinsgrove’s team of Dylan DeFazio and Nick Thompson earned the No. 7 seed for the tournament.

The first three rounds will be contested today, with the semifinals and finals held Monday at the Central PA Tennis Center. Action is slated to begin at 2 p.m.

The top two teams advance to the PIAA Tournament held May 24 and 25 at Hershey Racquet Club.


District 4 Doubles Tournament

at Williamsport Area High School

Today’s pairings

First round: No. 1 Dhruv Kotru-Blake Nizinski (Danville) vs. Muncy No. 2; Andrew Stapp-Levi Miller (Montoursville) vs. Tony Ayala-Josh Kern (Milton); Alex Trunzo-Michael Walker (Jersey Shore) vs. Theo Hintz-Thomas Yackiel (Bloomsburg); No. 8 Cole Temple-Sawyer Fisher (Lewisburg) vs. Sam Livorno-Ryan Weinhoffer (So. Williamsport); No. 6 Conor Ryan-Holden Hazzard (Central Columbia) vs. Ben Wescott-Ty Whitmoyer (Loyalsock); Brandon Linn-Aaron Hackenburg (Mifflinburg) vs. Eli Markle-Ethan Harris (Selinsgrove); Darell Lyles-Ulysses Mercado (Shikellamy) vs. Austin Sheatler-Ethan Snyder (Hughesville); No. 4 Nathan Redell-William Poirier (Wellsboro) vs. Noah Poll-Diango Yrigellen (Towanda); No. 3 Franklin Summerson-Spencer Karasek (So. Williamsport) vs. Het Patel-Eli Henning (Danville); Zack Burkhart-Kyle Wagner (Milton) vs. Tim Morrison-Jaden Wise (Towanda); Will Bodenman-Matt Haubert (Central) vs. Ben Watts-eli Ward (Montoursville); No. 6 Connor Rude-Quinn Deitrick (Loyalsock) vs. River Hicks-Lee/Josh Dobles (NP-Liberty); No. 7 Dylan DeFazio-Nick Thompson (Selinsgrove) vs. Trey McCollum-James Yordy (Muncy); Gavin McBride-Tyler Kinney (Bloomsburg) vs. Luke Leach-Ethan Ryan (Wellsboro); David Han-Cole Casimir (Lewisburg) vs. Cameron Crowley-Miles Mogush (Shikellamy); No. 2 Logan Burns-Spencer Thomas (Hughesville) vs. McClenason Wagner-Declan MacPherson (Mifflinburg).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.